The MT-07 Forum

Dangers of email flashes

Spatt

I get to see an work on a number of bikes a year for racers and track day guys.    Recently I got in two motors for builds from club racers.  Both stock motors with one ~400 miles on the motor.  Should be a pretty simple task, limited mileage normally means less time for damage to parts and gentlemen was running a simple emailed flash and the other bike was running just a dynojet fuel map uploaded to the ecu via FTECU.  One motor was running VP T4 and the other Sunoco Optima both I would say are definitely a step above your pump 93 for a stock motor. 

The results were pretty awesome.  I have no knowledge of the tune other than after rebuilding I'll start with one of my maps and adjust it for the motor.  I understand it takes time to schedule tuning and but in my opinion its always better if you can to physically get the bike on a dyno and work with a tuner you know.  

Alternatively you might just get a present like these pistons and cylinder.  Curiously the failures always seems on the FZ to be related to cylinder #1.  On the SV's I use 2 wideband sensors for tuning and on the FZ I only monitor at the collector of the two cylinders.  I'll maybe take some time to modify a header to allow me to log both cylinders and see what differences there are in the two.

Either way just be careful out there with your bike and you money is my suggestion.  All this can be fixed but its at the cost of additional parts and time.

image.thumb.png.1ff03767d9aab359ee3429cff799471e.png

image.thumb.png.531ab9d8da6d056930a1ba81d6d8755a.png

image.thumb.png.a37dd1508c3d40f7c4e7f9012056f3fa.png

Get your MT07 & FZ07 racing parts at https://www.robemengineering.com/fz-07-products

• Global Moderator

by email, i assume you mean home tuners sharing their created maps?

ATGATT... ATTATT, two acronyms I live by.

Good stuff! Cylinder #1 is on the shifter side, is that the one your referring to? Backwards from what I would think.