The MT-07 Forum

Top speed in each gear

Johnfrancisjfk

Johnfrancisjfk

Hi, newbie here, just bought an mt07 2 weeks ago, I’m curious if a previous owner has fitted a smaller sprocket as the top speed in 2nd gear is 70mph, top speed in 3rd is 90mph, that seems a little fast? Also, I’ve never been close to doing a wheelie, makes me wonder if it was altered to make it less aggressive through the gears?

cheers

• Global Moderator

@Johnfrancisjfk, according to this website you seem about 10 mph fast. 

I sometimes accidently lift my front wheel accelerating too hard in first and second gears.  I have stock sprockets and exhaust. 

Johnfrancisjfk

Ye I seen the speed range you mention, that’s why I’m wondering, it seems to be geared differently, I have opened the throttle up going through gears but The front wheel stayed firmly planted

59 minutes ago, Johnfrancisjfk said:

Hi, newbie here, just bought an mt07 2 weeks ago, I’m curious if a previous owner has fitted a smaller sprocket as the top speed in 2nd gear is 70mph, top speed in 3rd is 90mph, that seems a little fast? Also, I’ve never been close to doing a wheelie, makes me wonder if it was altered to make it less aggressive through the gears?

cheers

Just count the teeth. Stock is 43 I believe

• Like 1

• Premium Member
10 minutes ago, geophb said:

Just count the teeth. Stock is 43 I believe

You are correct. Stock sprockets are 16 tooth front  and 43 tooth in the rear

• Like 1

DewMan

Just shut up and ride.

While it is likely just a gearing thing if you have a phone mount you can load up a GPS app to see if the speedo is even correct. For what it's worth my speedo matches almost perfectly to what GPS says.

I don't recall off the top of my head but watching some of my old gopro footage in particular I only slightly short shifted 3rd at 70mph so 90 seems really high.

Edited by sp3ak