The MT-07 Forum

MT-03 or Mt-07 for beginner

BenDog

Hey, so i'm just getting into riding and am looking for a good first bike, never ridden a motorbike before.

I'm thinking of either getting an MT-03 or a Mt-07LA (Australian LAMS approved version). I wondering whether owning a MT-07 as a first bike is too much, by this I mean will i be doing accidental power wheelies every five seconds.

Cheers. 

1 hour ago, BenDog said:

Hey, so i'm just getting into riding and am looking for a good first bike, never ridden a motorbike before.

I'm thinking of either getting an MT-03 or a Mt-07LA (Australian LAMS approved version). I wondering whether owning a MT-07 as a first bike is too much, by this I mean will i be doing accidental power wheelies every five seconds.

Cheers. 

Not 5 seconds.

If you're an avg size bloke of avg mechanical skill and dexterity you'll have no trouble adjusting to the 07, and have bike left over to grow into. If, on the other hand, you need a little extra time and effort to pick up on semi technical things like fly fishing or motorcycling then perhaps the 03 is a better starting option. Followed by it's resale/trade at some point when you're ready to move to a more suitable machine at a later date.  

Both are fine machines and quite suitable to new riders. 

BLR

• Like 1

• Global Moderator

You might consider a used R3, Ninja 300, etc. that you could ride for a year or so to get some experience.   You could probably  sell it for about what you bought it for and then get a non-LAMS FZ-07 when you have some experience.  If you drop a used bike you will not feel anywhere near as bad as if you dropped a new bike and making mistakes on a less powerful bike often has fewer consequences.  Good luck and let us know what you decide.  

• Like 2