The MT-07 Forum

Washing my Bike

GuywithanMT07

Hello, I am a new rider. I have a 2018 MT-07, and I want to wash it.  Is it okay to spray it with water even though there's no side fairings?  Also, do you have any tips for washing it, or is there anything you think I should know? Thanks!

It's ok to wash it off with a hose. I've been washing bikes weekly for many years now. Do not use a pressure washer as it can drive water past seals and cause issues. Like water getting past rear suspension seals and rusting out the linkage bearings.

I don't like even using a normal nozzle on a hose. One of those sprinkler type things you use for watering flowers ( delicate) works perfect IMO. Floods the surface clean without driving moisture in to connecters and other places you don't want it. 

Dawn dish soap is a good degreaser that can keep things sparkly clean. Be careful with products like Purple Power or Simple Green as they are acidic and can ( can,  not will) attack aluminum.  I do like to spray some Purple Power around my calipers occasionally. Helps keep the brake dust from accumulating and you can't really scrub in those areas very well. Just don't let something like that dry in the sun and try to keep it away from bare aluminum. 

mc572ydv6kixhibjbt3rxydr7uygxymxupts09wy63zfthoyele8kyz2cyvvprd0-.jpg

Edited by shinyribs
  • Like 1

S100 cycle cleaner is safe on aluminum but cuts grease very nicely without stripping everything like Dawn does.  Spray, rinse, done.  I learned about it from an old RX7 guru who used it to keep his engine bay sparkling, and use it on my formula car that collects everyone's oil leaks, as well as the bike.

• Like 2

Hadn't heard of S100 and did some quick research. S100 is also sold as Hondabrite. 

It's active ingredient is ammonium hydrogen flouride, which is the chemical used to etch aluminum before the anodized process takes place. Interesting!

• Global Moderator