The MT-07 Forum

What are the Best Grips for Arthritic Hands?

bornagainbiker

• Premium Member
bornagainbiker

This past season I have been experiencing a lot of hand pain while riding, especially in my throttle hand--my doctor tells me it's osteoarthritis.  I was thinking that "stickier" grips would help, as I would not have to grip the bars as firmly to get the job done. 

Have any fellow riders had similar difficulties?  Has anyone discovered the "Holy Grail" of handgrips for hand pain relief?  Thanks in advance for your help.

Give Respect To Get Respect   https://jeff-galbraith.pixels.com/

• Global Moderator

I experience neuropathy also because reasons, have been using Pro-Grip 714 dual sport grips. It helps. I've posted about it in one of the "bar end weights" threads. Hope you find a good solution.

Here found it.

Edited by Pursuvant
  • Thanks 1

• Premium Member

I'm also a fan of the Pro-Grip 714s. They have larger diameter than stock grips and have just enough tack to be able to hold throttle position by just laying your hand on the grip after you're up to speed. I usually just lay my fingers along the brake lever once I'm up to speed with my hand completely relaxed.

I've also heard some are fans of Grip Puppies as well. 

Good luck resolving your issue.

• Thanks 1

DewMan

Just shut up and ride.

I know from a previous experience that arthritis may be lurking in the wings for me.  I am exercising my hands. I have grip puppies which are currently to deal with any vibration but with their larger grip diameter and 'sticky' surface should help. And I would be trying to find my throttle rest that so far I have managed without.

• Thanks 1

Just do it! 

• Global Moderator
51 minutes ago, DewMan said:

I'm also a fan of the Pro-Grip 714s

You recommended them to me DewMan, so the trophy goes to you amigo! They did change the name a bit, from "rally" to "dual sport", but this is for sure the right Pro-Grip pn# "PA071400GO02"

Edited by Pursuvant
added pn#