The MT-07 Forum

New MT-07 owner in KS

JeffroTull

Hello everyone! My name is Jeff and I've been lurking around the forum for a few weeks now. I'm 33-year-old Topeka, KS resident, and I am not new to riding but I am new to Yamaha. I rode dirt bikes for years, (KTM's and Kawi's mostly), cbr 600's and I recently owned a KTM 390 Duke. I loved the DUKE for blasting around town but found it a bit lacking when trying to blow past people on the interstate. I new I was gonna need to upgrade to a larger naked, and after about 4 months of deliberating I narrowed it down to the Duke 790 or the MT-07. I  ended up picking up this 2020 with around 1000 miles on it for 6500 bucks, and I am incredibly pumped to do some mods and put some miles on this thing! 

I look forward to convening with all the platform veterans in here and learning more about this bike and that sweet CP2!

IMG_0256.jpeg

• Like 1

Hi Jeff!  I'm new here too, and got a 2020 back in October.  It looks just like yours except for the exhaust system.  Mine is stock.  It's by far the nicest all-around motorcycle I've owned.  I'm sure you'll enjoy yours.

• Like 1

Nice to meet you Jim, I wasn't sure how I felt about the blue/black combo before I saw it in person. But once I did, I was a big fan. I'm looking forward spending some time with it!

41 minutes ago, JeffroTull said:

Nice to meet you Jim, I wasn't sure how I felt about the blue/black combo before I saw it in person. But once I did, I was a big fan. I'm looking forward spending some time with it!

Oh, I'm a long time fan of blue and black.  I did this to my 1972 H2 a year or so after I got it in '78.  The photo is from a couple years ago.

jims_h2_moonshine_1024.jpg

Edited by Triple Jim
  • Like 3

17 minutes ago, JeffroTull said:

I'll bet that was a fun bike!

It still is.  I still have it and ride it regularly.

• Like 2

Just now, bornagainbiker said:

Congrats and welcome to the forum--I really like that exhaust. 👍