The MT-07 Forum

Average rpm at 60mph

JacobJ265@gmail.co

JacobJ265@gmail.co

Hey yellow, I'm a noob. Just got my first bike, used 2017 fz07 3900 miles. The bike is mint, absolutely nothing wrong with it visually or with the engine as far as I'm aware. I've taken it on short ride on the country roads where I live but haven't taken it on the highway yet because at the time I hadn't got my learner permit yet. Now that I have everything I need I'm planning on going riding this weekend but I noticed that while on a straight back road I had the bike is 6th gear and it seemed like it was really working to go that speed. I'm basing this solely on sound, the bike felt smooth. I can't remember what the rpms were at but I'll find that out tonight.. It has aftermarket full exhaust with no baffle. So it's loud anyway.. What I'm wanting to know is if you guys are cruising at let's say 60 mph on a straight road not uphill or down and in 6th gear roughly what rpms are you sitting at. Mine could be totally normal and it's just because I'm not used to higher revving engines or motorcycles in general that I feel this way but I would just like some other people's opinions to help ease my mind. Thanks guys.

Edited by JacobJ265@gmail.co

20 minutes ago, robbo10 said:

You might find this site useful:

Motorcycle speed and sprocket calculator with bike database for gearing, sprockets, tires and chains of over 1600 bikes. Request yours to be added as well.

I checked 3 of my bikes (based entirely on 1st gear redline), checks out.

Edited by yamahazaki

1 hour ago, JacobJ265@gmail.co said:

let's say 60 mph on a straight road not uphill or down and in 6th gear roughly what rpms are you sitting at.

Since this is a manual transmission and there's nothing causing slip, going uphill or downhill or level won't change the 60 mph rpm.

JacobJ265@gmail.co