The MT-07 Forum

SD 19 CODE, Fz07

Albert Angel

Sense I'm new to bikes. Trying to buy a bike that has the SD 19 code. Well not sure how hard it can get to fix it. As I don't know much about bikes and trying to get my first. Should this code be a deal breaker? they said that the bike just tipped over. There's no sign of the bike being wrecked. Should I still buy it? How hard would it be to get it running?

• Global Moderator

SD19 is the side stand switch.  It should be an easy fix but I would not buy the bike until it was fixed.  If it is not running I would definitely not buy it.  If I was trying to sell a bike with engine problems then disconnecting the side stand switch to get it to display what looks like an easy problem to fix would be a good way to hide a big problem. 

• Like 2

The engine turns over find and has great compression. The bike sat for a bit and rats ate the wiring, he put a new wiring in and hasn't touched it anymore sense then. After the code he hasn't messed with it anymore.  He owns a bike shop. He said that I could take it as is for 3 grand or wait until he fixed it to then sell it for 3,800. I kind of trust the guy sense he owns a shop and sells lots of bikes. I'm just desperate for the bike lol. I'm mostly scared of the code. That it would be impossible to fix or very expensive.

Edited by Albert Angel

7 minutes ago, Albert Angel said:

The engine turns over find and has great compression. The bike sat for a bit and rats ate the wiring, he put a new wiring in and hasn't touched it anymore sense then. After the code he hasn't messed with it anymore.  He owns a bike shop. He said that I could take it as is for 3 grand or wait until he fixed it to then sell it for 3,800. I kind of trust the guy sense he owns a shop and sells lots of bikes. I'm just desperate for the bike lol. I'm mostly scared of the code. That it would be impossible to fix or very expensive.