The MT-07 Forum

Introduction

Mrozzie5184

Mrozzie5184

Hey, I'm brand new to riding and just picked up a '18 mt-07 with 700 miles for my first bike. I really want to expand my knowledge base, not sure if there's any specific things which I should keep an eye out for.

Forgot to mention, i landed on the mt-07 cause I'm 6'7" 250 pounds and this was the "smallest" bike I could find that fit me, I know I'll need to upgrade the suspension at some point, but im at a loss of what to do besides max out the pre-load on the rear spring.

Resized_20220408_102421.jpeg

Edited by Mrozzie5184
  • Like 1

Daniellessoul

Welcome and congrats.  There are tons of threads on suspension mods and everything else you might want to do.  Lots of good reading for ideas.

• Like 1

Beautiful '18!  I have a 2020 that's the same color.  Don't worry about modifications any time soon.  I've had mine for a  year and a half now, and the only thing I do to it other than routine maintenance is ride it and enjoy the heck out of it.

If you notice the front suspension actually bottoming in extreme stops, you can add a small, measured amount of fork oil.  The smaller air space then effectively increases the spring rate, making it stiffer.  You have the right idea for the rear.

I'm 6'2" tall and I don't find the bike anywhere near too small.  For me it's the most comfortable motorcycle I've owned.  6'7" is pretty darned tall, so it's good to hear that my height isn't the limit for comfort.  🙂

Welcome to the board, Mrozzi5184!

Always recommend quality protective gear and a moto safety course or two as the first things to spend money on.  Second to that, I could recommend an ecu flash.  Otherwise just ride and enjoy!

Welcome.

• Like 1

Mrozzie5184

Ok, so I'm signed up for a course, doesn't happen for 2 weeks though, I got my learners permit and have just been taking it on back roads n such.