The MT-07 Forum

Diagnos and Repair Charging System (Stator etc)

tomb

Hello! First post on here, total newbie to the forum but no stranger to motorcycle/car maintenance and repair. Apologies if this has been covered well in another post, I couldn't find what I needed by searching the forum.

I had a minor crash while turning onto the freeway over a patch of gravel.

Since the crash my battery has died over and over again.

After testing I've determined the battery is in good working condition.

My assumption is that the issue is with the stator, its connecting cables or its fuses.

Can someone give me a little hand-holding and lead me through how to diagnose my issue and repair it?

Hopefully said help will come with a video or a manual reference. I'm happy to shell out some cash for the right manual too if you guys believe that's my best route to success here, just want to avoid any lost time and money on this repair.

Thanks so much for your help everyone!

• Premium Member

If you are handy with electrical stuff- (I am not), I suggest you get a genuine Yamaha factory service manual. I do all my own work on my "07", and probably would get myself in trouble without the manual. Good luck, and let us know how it turns out-

""W.O.T. until you see god, then brake"

It seems to me the stator on this bike is rather frail, and can't take a left side crash/drop. 

I can get you a link to buy the service manual, same place I bought it.  No idea where the PDF files are.