The MT-07 Forum

center stand

jdc606

image.png.c7ff2f8e2a925944a5a8a4017df018d2.pngAnyone tried one of these inexpensive centerstand offerings from ebay? The center roller appears to align with the chain, making me think them very narrow and unstable.   

I just checked eBay for "MT-07 Center Stand" and didn't see that one.  What's the roller for?  How does it attach to the bike?  I saw some SW-MOTECH stands that looked like they'd be pretty ugly because they didn't retract up under the bike like I'm used to.  They also looked like they'd limit cornering clearance.

Welcome to the board, jdc606!

Edited by Triple Jim
  • Like 1

3 hours ago, Triple Jim said:

I just checked eBay for "MT-07 Center Stand" and didn't see that one. 

Hello Jim,

I used "Yamaha Fz-07 center stand" as my search criteria and posted to this forum as I have no knowledge concerning these center stands other than they are less expensive than the SW-Motech  stands. I have found the SW-Motech style stand from a Chinese vendor priced about half of what SW-Motech is asking. One person's answer to remedy limited ground clearance and exhaust system interference is to leave only the attachment mounts on the bike until the stand part is needed.

I am thinking I can save a considerable amount of cash buying a used Fz-07 but would want to replace the incorrect lower fork leg bushings. If I'm going to take the forks down for the lower bushings, I'm going to probably install a Traxxion AR-25  kit at the time. I'm 215lbs naked but don't ride naked so fork re-spring/damping is the minimal mod I can live with and a center stand would be most useful.

• Like 1

FWIW, you could also build a stand like on the link below instead of a centerstand.

I made one here and so far, I used it on 3 or 4 of my bikes and it works great!! Costed about $120 CDN.

I could send pictures if you like but is will look exactly like on the link. My FZ07 is currently being held on this pipe stand.