The MT-07 Forum

Bike back from dealer service…coolant level concern?

Cjanssen83

Cjanssen83

Long story short, bike was in service (2021 with 2900 miles). Got it back 6 days ago. 

Noticed I couldn’t see coolant level through the little window thing, so I popped the cover off. 

Obviously, very low. but the question is what should I do? Bring it back to the dealer and have them look at everything again? If this low, could it have already been damaging?

Or, top off the reservoir myself? Is that what I’d do…just fill the reservoir up to the full line? Or is there something else I’d do?

I have a bottle (opened) of Yamacool…can that go bad after being opened for a year?

Mechanical noob here…

IMG_0588.jpeg

• Premium Member
cornerslider

Yes, you can top it off- nothing to it

""W.O.T. until you see god, then brake"

Cjanssen83
2 hours ago, cornerslider said:

Yes, you can top it off- nothing to it

Figured, but I’m the type of noob who has to triple check everything.

Ok to use the open bottle of Yamacool in my garage? Or get a new bottle?

12 hours ago, Cjanssen83 said:

…just fill the reservoir up to the full line? Or is there something else I’d do?

Did you check the actual radiator (when cold) or just looking at the reservoir?

12 hours ago, Cjanssen83 said:

Mechanical noob here…

Are you familiar with how an overflow (reservoir) works? Just like a car, the radiator can barf out boiling radiator water, then "pull it back in" as the vehicle cools down in your garage.

• Like 1

Cjanssen83
5 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Did you check the actual radiator (when cold) or just looking at the reservoir?

Are you familiar with how an overflow (reservoir) works? Just like a car, the radiator can barf out boiling radiator water, then "pull it back in" as the vehicle cools down in your garage.

1) I just checked the reservoir. How would I check the radiator? Just open the cap and look inside?