The MT-07 Forum

MD Aprilia owner looking at FZ07

sailorjack

Hey all.  Nice site you have here with some good info.  Little bit about myself.  I'm in the Navy, 17 years so far.  Finishing up in MD before I retire here at the 20 year mark.  I've been riding for a few years and have owned over 20 + street bikes.  Everything from Buells to Kawasaki Ninja's to 4 different generation Honda VFR's (Interceptors for you older guys). I also race mini-gp, stock 100 class and F1.

I currently own a 2001 Aprilia Falco and while it has some nice components and a gorgeous growl, I'm over the leaning over, low clip-on style rides especially since I like to go on 300 - 500 mile day rides regularly.

So, this is probably going to sound strange but I really like the FZ-07 for a few reasons. 

First - it's so much fun to ride a slow bike fast.  Not saying the FZ-07 is slow but compared to my Ape and the Ninja 1000 before that and the CBR1100XX before that, this bike is down a few hp.

Second - It's so light weight!  Like riding a pedal bike compared to some of my previous piggies!

Third - Price. Cheap to buy, cheap to insure, cheap to maintain.

Fourth - Touring - eating miles.  Looking at the Corbin seats, windscreens and suspension options, I think this little bike can make a decent light tourer.  I'm not talking 10K in 10 days but easily making 300 - 500 mile days.

Of course, you all know all that anyway don't you.

Anyway, that's my plan.  Looking forward to lurking here till I sell the Aprilia (anyone interested in owning an Italian?) and get me an FZ-07 to throw money at.

pantheraleo

Welcome, sir.

You just missed a dandy that sold in eastern Va a day or two ago on this forum.

I've got a Givi screen, but that's hardly a touring windscreen.

Have you looked at the FJ? Not too much bigger, but has a lot of what your looking for installed already stock.