The MT-07 Forum

FZ-07 LED strip install made easy?

tino206

• Premium Member

Hi,

I am new to bikes in general and this is in fact is my first bike. With that said I have worked on cars for a while so I am not afraid of working on my bike. I want to first make this bike safe before I start modding performance and I have seen people install LED strip to make their bikes more visible. Have said that I want to make this an easy job, as it should be. I want to see what you guys think, the pictures below are not mine, they are ones I gathered while researching. Please let me know if this is something that would work.

Steps:
Buy LED strips
Buy vampire clips (picture below)
Find location of LED strips
connect vampire clips to power source
Done.

I have seen that the DRL cable in the harness is the Blue one in the picture. I would just place the vampire clip and the LED strip power to that, and wolah...we got power..right?

Vampire-Connector_T_zps5hhggmno.jpg

harness_zpsdvkypkfw.jpg

Would this work? what LED strips do you have (links)?[/img]

• Premium Member

Haven't done what you're trying to do so I can't comment on that.

Was just gonna say, posi-taps might work a little better than the vampire clip. In essence it is the same thing, but a lot smaller and easier to tuck away in the claustrophobic cabelways. Good luck with your mod!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00389UT3I/ref=redir_mdp_mobile/185-1369899-4175230

Everything went braap.

• Premium Member
snowdriftless

You would at least need a resistor in between the LED strips and the power source. And you would need two vampire clips for each LED strip. I know Cycle World had an editorial about using these clips and they found that sometimes the wire can get "Clopped" a little too much and cause the wire to break.

P1: Vice? I have no vice, I'm as pure as the driven snow!
P2: Yeah but you've been drifting

All the gear all the time!

• Global Moderator