The MT-07 Forum

Emergency braking

grahamfz07

• Premium Member

I had an interesting ride to work today

I was headed down the highway approaching an intersection when some dummy in a nissan nv? cube truck pulled into my lane and the proceeded to jam on the brakes pretty quickly. I guess the light turned red ahead and everyone started slowing, but all i could see was him in front of me now. Guess i shouldve slowed sooner when i saw him coming over. Anyways his bumper was approaching fast so grabbed a handful of front brakes and started to apply the rear, next thing i know the rear is locked, and the front end felt like it had started to slide out a couple times. Luckily i somehow managed to keep the front tire rolling and stop before his bumper. Left a nice black skid mark down the road and some tire smoke. I was just happy i didnt end up dumping the bike! Gotta keep remind myself im still a rookie at this, and to leave more space to react to things like that. 

• Global Moderator

Practice also helps, glad to hear you're alright and safely stopped.
I dont recommend tailgating cars, but will recommend practicing emergency stops on an empty road, or humongous(sp?)and deserted parking lot

ATGATT... ATTATT, two acronyms I live by.

• Premium Member
yamahappy74

Typical cager. They will pull out in front without any thought to leaving you any room for evasives. Glad you kept your cool.

As you increase pressure on the front brake, and the weight shifts more the way, if you don't lower the pressure on your rear brake it can lock up.

I practice emergency braking with just front and with both, but I have found that in the real live moment just applying the front to the max of its ability without locking it up is a chore enough. I can't modulate my right foot as well. I can press once with a set amount of pressure and keep it there, but that typically ends in a sliding rear end.

So, if you can't juggle, just use the front brake.