The MT-07 Forum

3D printed fender eliminator

japhillips87

japhillips87

I just finished my fender eliminator. I'm too cheap to buy one, so I designed and built one myself. You can download the part on thingiverse. I have also posted a few pics on imgur. Let me know what you guys think.

My only concern with a 3-D printed part for a motorcycle is that unlike an injection molded thermoplastic, 3-D printed plastic does not retain its shape after an extended amount of time. It will eventually droop and bend just naturally over time and after a year or so, it may not look the same or function the same as when you originally printed it. Nice work taking the initiative to make your own using 3-D modelling software, as a mechanical engineer student, I can respect that, but I don't think it will hold up long term. Just imho.

Awesome to see that you made your own! I really appreciate the time you put in to make the CAD model. My concerns are the strength and durability of the plastic, and the sharp corners of the design. When printed, steep changes in angles are usually where the material will break first. I'm happy to be proven wrong though! Keep us updated on its durability!

Nice work taking the initiative to make your own using 3-D modelling software, as a mechanical engineer student, I can respect that, but I don't think it will hold up long term. Just imho.
+1 for mechanical engineering, just graduated myself and had to go through multiple 3D printed aircraft fuselages during my last semester :) 

japhillips87