The MT-07 Forum

Suspension bolt question

br4nd0n

I have a need to replace the bolt (part [HASH]90105-10212-00) that connects the top half of the rear shock to the frame. I have a class 12.9 steel black oil finished socket cap bolt and wanted to know if using it would be a problem. I've read that 12.9 is really strong, but it can be brittle and don't want the bolt to snap on me. I also wanted to know if the type of metal and finish would cause any weird corrosion problems. I have no knowledge in this area (most automotive things) and was hoping someone who is experienced with this could chime in.

bmwpowere36m3

You mean to the engine? Either way 12.9 grade fastener will be fine, 10.9 would be sufficient as well. The "problem" with black-oxide fasteners is they'll rust very quickly… especially when exposed to the elements. It wont affect their strength (purely surface), it'll just look bad and possibly cause rusty stains nearby. I avoid black-oxide fasteners for almost everything… expect where I didn't really care looks-wise or "indoor" use.

I would get another bolt from the dealer (can't be to expensive) or from a good fastener supplier (like Grainer, Fastenal and McMaster are big ones, NAPA might even have them). Get the appropriate length, pitch and zinc coated (either silver or yellow/gold).

*EDIT* I also wouldn't used a socket head, if by that you mean the one with an internal allen/hex.  Use a regular hex head bolt.

Yeah, I guess it does connect to the engine now that I look at it. Anyways, I need the bolt to have an allen/hex cap because I have a cylindrical piece that goes around it and it is too narrow to get a normal socket inside. Without an allen/hex cap I won't be able to tighten the bolt down.

bmwpowere36m3