The MT-07 Forum

Old man new bike?

billgordon

billgordon

Hi, I'm new to this forum so Hello and best wishes to everyone!
you may think I'm mad but at 68years old I am considering buying a new motorcycle and have narrowed it down to an FZ 07 or an FZ 09. Many years ago I owned an R1 and later a GSXR 1000K2, so I have some experience in driving larger bikes albeit 12 years ago.
I can't make my mind up between the 09 and 07, I don't need and cannot use the power of a litre bike, I am attracted to the 07 but am unsure if 75hp would be enough for occasional motorway use, I would mainly be driving the twisties.
Here in the UK the difference in price between the two bikes is much larger than it is in the US about £1700 and insurance is 65% more, however I would hate to buy the wrong bike as I intend this to be a final purchase and a keeper. Is 75hp enough or would I be better with 115hp to be on the safe side. I am 160lbs without gear and 5'8'' in height, I do not intend to go down the route of having to change the suspension.
Your thoughts and advice are most welcome.

• Premium Member

Welcome to the club! Well soon we hope! :-) I personally think you will be absolutely fine with the 07. I would think your final decision would be sitting on both and seeing how light the 07 is for the type of riding you are describing. I have no issues on the highway and have 30 lbs on you!

Guest Ralph

I am 67 200lb and live in the UK the bike is like a 250 but with double the power,
it pulls well from low revs and is more than capable of M way travel I've been
up Scotland twice on mine no problems I have the tall PowerBronze Screen, you
are in the UK so you wont have a problem finding a test ride, try both.

Tyler Jane

The 70hp from the 700cc twin is more than enough to ride safely on the highway. If you drop a gear and open the throttle, you'll be flying past whatever obstacles you need to, especially if you're only 160lbs. And at 5'8", the 07 should fit you really well.