The MT-07 Forum

Power (Electric) Consumption & Usage

cable

I'm thinking about adding some accessories to the bike.

-Additional Emergency flashers for the rear. (18 watts)
-A pair of automotive flood lamps for the front. (20 watts)
-100W Amp/Speaker for Electronic Air Horn. (100 Watts)

Now I don't want to fry my charging system or overtax it, so I'm trying to figure out how much I can fit on there before I start overloading the system.

I'm looking at 138 Watts of additional accessories. 

Current light system:
Cyclops LED headlamp (20-40 Watts)
LED  Turn Signals (Front and rear) (40 watts estimated combined)

I've already swapped out all my turn signals and headlamps to LED, which do lower the usage a bit, but I'm wondering what other components are using the power as the bike runs? According to what I've read, the AC Magneto pumps out 410 Watts of power.

Now I'm not an electrical engineer, so I need some clarification as to how these accessories will affect the system. I'm using Watts, but I am unsure exactly of what other considerations I need to make. Battery output, charge rate, etc. Of course each and every additional component will be fused, but I want to make sure I have the concept correct before I start purchasing components.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

I'm thinking as long as you as yer not listening to that horn all the time as you go down the road ( I can go months w/o ever touching a horn button) and have all the extra lights on as well, you'll be OK

Would have guessed LED turn signals only draw about 5 watts each. Only 2 will come on at a time of course.

Keep in mind, the fuel pump, computer and ignition also consume power.