The MT-07 Forum

Wheel Rust

tbfzsage

Hello all, 
I've had my FZ-07 for about a year now, it's my first bike of my own. Since about the second week though, I've had rust keep popping up on my wheels. I live in Florida so it's always raining and there's a lot of humidity and moisture in the air. I don't have a garage but I keep it covered as much as I can but can't keep the rust off. What's a good way to get the rust off the wheels without messing up the paint? 

Also looking for suggestions for a good chain lube to use. I've been taking my bike to the dealer for maintenance up until now but I want to start doing it myself as that's getting pretty costly. Any other suggestions for things I should look out for as far as maintaining the bike is welcome; like I said this is my first bike so I'm pretty new to all this. I've fiddled through the owner's manual a bit but they don't always cover everything! Thanks

• Premium Member

Not sure what to say about the rust on the wheels, but for your chain any chain specific lube should do. I have been using
DuPont Teflon Chain-Saver Dry Self-Cleaning Lubricant, 11-Ounce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001B0VDC2/ref=cm_sw_r_apa_mO0yxbE1X0659

Get the rear wheel lifted up on a rear stand, spray the chain with degreaser (name brand like Dupont is fine or you can just use kerosene). Let it sit for a minute. Wipe it down good to get the dirt and grime off, sprocket too. And then lube up the chain.

I really like MC Garage vids. Usually pretty helpful.
MC Garage:

Not sure what to say about the rust on the wheels, but for your chain any chain specific lube should do. I have been using DuPont Teflon Chain-Saver Dry Self-Cleaning Lubricant, 11-Ounce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001B0VDC2/ref=cm_sw_r_apa_mO0yxbE1X0659