The MT-07 Forum

Brand new rider advice and tips needed

armorfz

Hey guys I just joined the forum and have been reading a lot. I just bought my first bike it's a 2016 armor grey 07. I went with this bike after feeling more comfortable on it over the 09. Now this is my first time riding anything like this. I've ridden dirt bikes, atvs here and there over the years and I'm very adaptive to motorsports I can usually jump on or in something and get the hang of it pretty quickly. But for a first rider in general what are some good do's and donts for a beginner rider? Any help or info will be appreciated. I plan on taking it slow and not riding in heavily traffic areas or express ways for a while.

• Premium Member

^what he said.
You could also read books like Proficient Motorcycling, Motorcycling the Right Way, and Total Control.

+1 on MSF class.

When on the road, don't just assume others don't see you. Rather, assume they DO see you and are intentionally trying to kill you.

Street bike operation is easy compared to riding in the dirt. But, cars are a whole different routine.

GEt the suspension dialed in for your weight. Best safety and performance upgrade you can do.

Avoid group rides, they are dangerous. Ride your ride, your speed, always look only where you want to go. The bike always goes where you are looking.

Leave the brakes alone in corners. The time to use the brakes is BEFORE you are in a corner. If you touch the brakes in the corner, the bike will stand up straight and you will go of the road.

Stay calm, have fun.

• Premium Member
snowdriftless
^what he said. You could also read books like Proficient Motorcycling, Motorcycling the Right Way, and Total Control.