The MT-07 Forum

Returning Rider. New Bike (intro)

DewMan

• Premium Member

I'm excited to see an international group of fans of the MT/FZ-07. I look forward to sharing time and knowledge with all of you.
About Me: I'm a 52 year old, happily single, cubical dweller living in the humid state of Florida, USA. I'm either having a mid-life crisis or working on my bucket list... I'm not sure which yet.
Backstory:I started riding back in the mid 80s on a very used Honda CM450 parallel twin that I eventually upgraded to a lightly used Yamaha Radian (YX600S) inline 4 with a K&N stage 1 kit as it's only performance mod. I loved my Radian. I rode the Radian until the tank fell off (rusted through). Between the two bikes I put close to 60,000 miles (95,000 Kilometers) in the saddle as they were my primary means of transportation for several years.
I enjoyed riding so much during that time, I went to school for Motorcycle mechanics and worked for a short time in a local shop wrenching. Eventually I figured out I wasn't going to make as comfortable a living as I wanted wrenching so I switched careers numerous times until I settled into a long term career in I.T. that continues today. After getting a cage, life kept me too busy/distracted to get a new ride for an embarrassingly long time.
Enter the FZ-07:I recently spent several weeks Googling the crap out of all the current offerings from the big four. I'm brand agnostic so all models were given fair consideration. After much consideration, wallet checking and soul searching, along with being honest with myself that I really had no valid use for a liter bike, I decided on the FZ-07. I then Googled for an additional week specifically on the FZ-07 and the more I read the more I knew I'd made the right decision.
[strong]I walked into my local dealer yesterday and got a very good out the door price on an FZ-07 ABS with 0 miles on the LCD display. SCORE![/strong]