The MT-07 Forum

Weird whine / hum under acceleration. Is it normal?

contra

Alright, so under light acceleration my bike makes this weird whine/hum sound. The way I would describe it is kind of like an electric motor under load, kinda like the sound those tiny battery powered jeeps that I had as a kid made. Im not sure if I would be able to get a high enough quality video to pick up the sound due to my exhaust being quite loud (akra carbon without the baffle) so I hope this description is sufficient. My thoughts are it might be the fuel pump making noise, but I'm pretty new to the bike world so I'm not sure if thats a thing. The noise might have been there since I bought the bike, but I only recently noticed it.

The noise only happens under light acceleration / when maintaining speed in the lower RPMs (maybe the higher RPMs, but the exhaust might be drowning it out because I can't hear it over ~6k rpm).

Any ideas? The only engine related mod on the bike is the exhaust.

Thanks in advance!

• Premium Member

Its the 'flux capacitor' man. Sorry, someone was probably gonna to write it.

I havent noticed anything like the noise you describe, I also have no other FZ around to compare it to. Could be there on mine as well I dunno. I could only assume its normal operation. Charging system or fuel injectors etc?

Crush your enemies. See them driven before you. Hear the lamentations of their women.          Fuss Life.

I havent noticed anything like the noise you describe, I also have no other FZ around to compare it to. Could be there on mine as well I dunno. I could only assume its normal operation. Charging system or fuel injectors etc?
Yeah I figured it might be a normal thing, so I wanted to post here before I took it to a shop to have it looked at. It just bugs me because I cant "un-notice" it, you know? Like everytime I ride the bike its all I can hear lol

Sounds like the chain and front sprocket to me.