The MT-07 Forum

Helmet issue

fzinla

Hello guys and gals, I am a noob, been riding for about a year. The FZ is my second bike and I love it.When I go above 80 mph, my helmet starts wobbling around. Not to the point of coming off or block my vision or anything like that but it wobbles enough to be a major annoyance.Even after tightening the chin strap I still have the same issue. The helmet that I have has a system where I can pump air into it to make it tighter (sort of like the Reebok Pump from back in the 90s) and even after tightening the helmet to the point of discomfort, it still does the same thing and just as bad.Is it a helmet issue? the one I have is pretty cheap. It does exceed DOT standards but I bought it when I was not sure I was going to stick with riding. Is it my head? I hope not because there isn't much I can do to fix that potentially weirdly shaped thing.Is it a combination of both? Helmet does not fit the shape of my head? I did some research before I bought it and this helmet seemed to fit my head shape the best. Then again I only spent about 5 minutes trying helmets on before I bought the one I have.
Please let me know your thoughts because I really want to get rid of this annoyance without having to mount a wind screen. If mounting a wind screen is the only option then I would most likely just deal with this issue as I love the bike the way it is.
Thank you all.

• Premium Member

Some options:
1. The helmet may not be as aerodynamic as other helmets so it doesn't handle high speed wind as well.
2. The helmet may also not fit your head well if it comes off when you have it tightened on with the strap. Go window shopping and try on more helmets but watch some videos on YouTube first of what you should be checking for to find a perfect helmet fit. EDIT: added a video

Also, different helmets are made for different head shapes. So try some that are narrow and try some that are wide. See what works best for your weird shaped head. :D