The MT-07 Forum

FZ-07 complaints that I don't understand...

trainspottingbaby

trainspottingbaby

Ok first of all, a disclaimer -- I'm new to FZ-07 ownership, so I'm still in the honeymoon phase. But I hear a lot of nitpicking about various aesthetic and functional parts of the bike, most of which don't stand out to me and are not things I'd ever have noticed. And sorry but some of those things really do sound like "if other people think it's ugly/bad then I should change it just in case". Here are some examples of things I've read around the internet (not necessarily on this site)...:

- "The front signal lights are a monstrosity".
Lots of people seem to agree on that point, but I really don't see what the big deal is. They look like perfectly normal blinkers to me. 

- "The engine is so quiet. I hate that."
Since when is quiet a bad thing? Maybe it's just my age, but isn't being obnoxious and annoying people on my street worse? I swear if I hear you kids revving your $1000 Akrapovic/M4/Yoshimura exhaust in front of my house, I'll run out on my lawn and shake my cane at you. 

- "Worst color scheme evaaaar."
Wrong. There has never been a bad colour scheme on the FZ-07.  Blurrple is compelling and unique. Raven has a classical sexy look. Grey with high viz wheels (or otherwise) is eye-catching and bad-ass. Glacier/metalic blue (my bike) and red both look instantly appealing, like something I'd want to lick. Matte silver is classy and refined. Yamaha's aesthetic department knows what they're doing.

- "I wish they made the heel guard/frame black instead of silver to match everything else"
See above. I don't get that complaint -- the two-tone gives it a really nice visual contrast and dynamic.

- "I don't like the stickers on the tank"
I do. So there!

- "The rear brake is mushy"
Two words -- Engine Braking. This bike has it, a lot! If I ever end up having to replace my brake pads, I'll be very surprised.

- "Front shocks are not adjustable, rear is bad too"