The MT-07 Forum

Look, Lean, Roll...

pgeldz

• Premium Member

Figured I'd chime in here and share the most used phrase we used to preach back when I was a MSF Instructor...as it relates to cornering.

Look, Lean, Roll.  If you can remember this, you're on the right path, and much better off than when I first started riding :)

Look - Look into the corner, and continue to look further until you see the exit.  You will go where your eyes are looking.  If you see something in the road, the worst thing you can do is stare and fixate on it...as you have a much higher chance of colliding with it.  Look where you want to go instead.

Lean - Lean into the corner.  I'm not saying hang way off like MotoGP style, but if you're in a corner and you think you're not gonna make it, just lean into the corner a little more.  Put some more pressure on the inside bar, and use your legs to weight the inside peg as well.  Most racing professionals can probably take the same corner 20-30mph faster, so my point is the bike can make it.  Usually what happens is upon entry, a rider will get nervous and hit the brakes, which will stand the bike up and make you run wide, usually off the road.  If you lean into it a little more, you'll be surprised what the bike can actually do.

Roll - Roll on the throttle, gently, progressively

Hopefully that helps someone out there :)

- Paulie

Thanks! It looks like it is universal instructor language, as it is the exact same thing I kept hearing during my course. The "look" part was harder for me, as I kept getting my eyes stuck to the pylons...but all that repeating made it happen for me.

All my respect for you guys, you are a patient bunch :) !

• Premium Member
hippiebikerchick

I've only been riding two years and am always seeking to improve my skills. No one is ever done learning. I especially need to build my confidence in turns, thanks for the refresher!

Illegitimi non carborundum