The MT-07 Forum

Noobie question on Oil

SlowGroove

Hi all,

Complete noob here, and recently bought a used FZ07.  Since it was new to me, I decided to do an oil change after I’d spent several days riding it, even though it’s not really due for a couple thousand more miles. Anyway - after changing oil and filter, and running the engine a few minutes and then letting it drain down to the oil pan - it appears now to have a bit too much oil in it. The level is a bit above the max level for the viewing window, but not sure if I should be overly concerned or not. Out of three quarts of oil, I have exactly 1/4 qt left - which is what the manual says it should take. What are your thoughts?  Should I work to get some out down to the max fill line, or is it ok?

If you start the bike up let it run a few minutes 3 - 5 and then shut it off, let rest 2 min where is the oil level at?

If it is over filled you will know.  You can buy a large siphone type syringe at a food place grocery store.  Get some clear tubing and cut enough to all you to reach down in and pul back on the syringe to draw out excess.  If you draw to much you can always add a little back...

A little over is not going to harm the bike.  I never go by the quarts used, I use a ratio right and just add a bit less oil than the manual states.  I then add what I need after the first warm up

“Laws that forbid the carrying of arms disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes.” --Thomas Jefferson quoting Cesare Beccaria

Make sure you'e checking the oil with the bike level - standing straight up, not leaning on the sidestand.  If it's on the sidestand, it will appear to be too full.  A bit hard to do, but you can lean it against a wall, have someone help hold it (best way),  or put a block under the sidestand while you get down and check it.  Be sure you leave the sidestand down and hold onto the bike in case it tries to lean away from you and fall.