The MT-07 Forum

Short rider looking for lowering suggestions

NoobieRider

Hello all,

I'm a total newbie with bikes and am currently taking an MSF course for familiarization and for obvious licensing reasons. Anyway, before taking my course I bought a 2017 FZ-07. I wanted something I could develop my riding skills into without having to upgrade down the road anytime soon. I found the stock height to be a bit too high for me causing me to tippy-toe and that's not comfortable. I'm 5"4" tall and weigh between 150-155lbs without gear. In my class I'm using a Honda Grom and that's the perfect height for me. If anyone could help me, what should I do to lower my bike to an acceptable level where I can flat-foot the ground? I've searched and found an adjustable lowering link by Soupy and a kit made by Hyperpro but I would rather get some input from the more experienced riders out there. And as I have not ridden the bike yet (Odometer states 0.8 miles :D ) I really have no experience into how the suspension feels either. Many say the setup is just bad but I wouldn't know just yet. Is the stock suspension suitable for daily commutes mostly on paved roads or should I look into a more refined setup? Thanks in advance!!

Hi there fellow shorty. Im 164cm barefoot, 5’4  should be close as mine. I also bought the bike bfre taking the 500cc> License class. Ive always want the 07 since 2015 but only have the money this year so..im noob too so here’s my take, you dont need the lowering kit. U could do just fine with your height. Yes it would be awesome and jealousy sometimes to see other rider to be flat footed at stops and traffic light but dont let it down ya.