The MT-07 Forum

Clutch is slipping

cruzian3

My clutch is slipping at 75,000 Miles.  I had the shop replace the friction plates at 50,000 miles, but this time I wanna use aftermarket plates and springs, which already came in.

I'm waiting for the gasket to arrive and then I want to try and replace it myself.  I'm not a mechanic, just a cheap bastard.

If you have any tips for me, I would appreciate it.  Thanks.

• Premium Member

You will need a clutch basket holding tool... put bike in 6th gear and use a buddy to hold bike and rear brake pedal down tight

2015 fz-07- Hordpower Edition...2015 fj-09- 120whp- Graves Exhaust w/Woolich Race Kit- tuned by 2WDW

3 minutes ago, norcal616 said:

You will need a clutch basket holding tool... put bike in 6th gear and use a buddy to hold bike and rear brake pedal down tight

Oh man, it looked easy on YouTube and there was no mention of a clutch basket holding tool nor did he say to put it 6th gear.  I'm glad I asked.  Ok I'm gonna need to research this a bit more before I start.  Thanks.

• Premium Member
1 hour ago, cruzian3 said:

My clutch is slipping at 75,000 Miles.

How long have you had your bike? and did you get it brand new? Either Way thats a lot of miles. 

• Premium Member

Before you replace your clutch plates, have you confirmed that your clutch cable movement is not being hampered? Just to confirm that your clutch cable is allowing your plates to fully mesh when your clutch lever is released.

I don't know what kind of riding you do but unless you're doing a lot of clutch dumps ,25k miles doesn't seem like a lot of miles on a set of plates.

What plates/springs did you get?

DewMan

Just shut up and ride.

• Premium Member
1 hour ago, cruzian3 said:

Oh man, it looked easy on YouTube and there was no mention of a clutch basket holding tool nor did he say to put it 6th gear.  I'm glad I asked.  Ok I'm gonna need to research this a bit more before I start.  Thanks.